All Posts /

Fiction Friday: Time Honored Classics

Fiction Friday: Time Honored Classics

“My love for Linton is like the foliage in the woods: time will change it, I’m well aware, as winter changes the trees. My love for Heathcliff resembles the eternal rocks beneath: a source of little visible delight, but necessary.” – Emily Bronte, Wuthering Heights

Do you remember where you were when you found out Elizabeth loved Mr. Darcy in Pride and Prejudice? Or when Catherine chose Linton over Heathcliff in Wuthering Heights? Did you dream of becoming a writer because of Jo March’s stories with her sisters in Little Women? Have you quoted, “It is best of times, it was the worst of times,” from A Tale of Two Cities when you are having a rough day?

For fans of the classics, these stories, while hundreds of years old, are still alive and well. The themes continue to speak into the modern world just as they did when they were originally written. History can be seen through first-person eyes and taught to a new generation. And even though their authors have been gone for centuries, the impact of a story well told continues to impact lives today.

With growing technology, classic works of literature are offered in a variety of ways – physical books, e-books, audio, video – all to reach today’s reader in their preferred format. Whether in a price conscious mass market paperback for required school reading or decorative collectable editions, the classics are more accessible than ever before.

On October 29, Thomas Nelson Fiction is releasing the ‘Seasons Edition’ – a selection of fine edition classics that have been cultivated because of the season in which the book takes place. The first series will be the ‘Seasons Edition – Winter,’ featuring Little Women, Pride and Prejudice, A Tale of Two Cities, and Wuthering Heights.

About ‘Seasons Edition – Winter’

Expertly created by in-house by award-winning designer Kate Armstrong, each of the front covers invokes the mood of the season while a quote from the book about winter will be on the back cover. The book jacket is stark white with an innovative laser-cut design. The hardcover book exterior has a printed texture in a solid color with gold foil stamping on the front cover, spine, and back cover.

Highly designed end sheets (the inside of the cover) bookmark the front and back of each book as well as the backside of each of the designed quotes throughout the interior. The book interiors are designed with two-color printing on white paper with sewn binding. Each book also contains eight decorative pages with designed quotes about the winter season, and the exterior of the pages are stained in a complimentary color.

A limited-edition collection with only one print run, all books will be first editions and numbered out of the total 10,000. The exclusivity of these editions makes them an ideal gift for collectors, literature lovers, and fans of Dickens, Brontë, Alcott, or Austen.

‘Seasons Edition – Summer’ will release in June 2020 and feature The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Jane Eyre, Persuasion, and the Wonderland collection. ‘Seasons Edition – Spring’ and ‘Seasons Edition – Fall’ will follow in 2021.

“Well, the winter’s gone, and I’ve written no books, earned no fortune, but I’ve made a friend worth having and I’ll try to keep him all my life.” – Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

* * *

Your Turn

You’ll love curling up with a warm blanket and these beautiful classics! Plus, they make great Christmas gifts! Which title is your favorite? Come share with us on our blog! ~ Laurie McClure, Faith.Full